September Sunshine Muffins

Standard

sunshine carrot and corn muffin

My eldest child is 20 today, where did that time go? He always requests a carrot cake and I always use my Mum’s recipe – now officially named Sybil’s Carrot Cake.  After my cake was in the oven this time however, I found a large pile of hand-grated carrots on the counter!   I grated the carrots in two batches and, it appears, I forgot to put half the carrots in the cake! Still, even half the amount of carrots is plenty and the icing will take up the slack (we only put icing on Birthday cakes and fairy cakes).

So, what to do with the remaining grated carrots?

Carrot muffins of course – here’s my recipe – my own design based on the millions of muffins I’ve made and my experience trying to bake healthier cakes recently.

I bought a bag of fine polenta (cornmeal) in the “foreign foods” section of the supermarket to use as an alternative to regular ol’ flour since I’ve used up my bag of besan/chick pea/gram flour and am still on my adventurous kick.  So, this muffin has cornmeal in it – which adds a lovely colour and texture.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups self-raising flour (if you use plain or all-purpose flour, increase baking powder to 1 tablespoon).
  • 1/2 cup cornmeal (fine polenta) – my current bag of “alternative” flour.
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground ginger (more if you like ’em spicy) I like delicate hints of spice.
  • 1/4 cup healthy seeds (or chopped nuts or raisins).
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 egg (beaten)
  • 1 cup natural yoghurt
  • 1/4 cup sunflower oil
  • 2 cups grated carrot (approx 3 medium carrots)
  • splash of low fat milk/orange juice if necessary

Method:

Remember – muffins need gentle mixing and a few lumps are fine.

  1. Put all the dry ingredients into a large bowl and mix well.
  2. Add the beaten egg, oil and yoghurt.
  3. Stir gently to incorporate the wet into the dry ingredients – DO NOT OVER MIX.
  4. If necessary, add a splash of milk or even orange juice to moisten and again stir gently – not too much liquid as the carrots will also moisten the mix.
  5. Add the grated carrots and stir gently to incorporate.
  6. Divide the mix between 12 muffin cases in a muffin tray and bake at 200C (400F) for approx 20 minutes or until well risen and firm to touch – do not over bake or they will be dry.

Mine were delicious, spongy, moist, light and fluffy.  A million miles from shop bought muffins which just glue your mouth together with sickly sweet cloying pap.  Mine were fresh, gently sweet and subtly gingery and such a lovely sunshiny colour – which we need here today ‘cos it’s drizzling very gently.  Give ’em a go if your Autumn needs a little sunshine.

sunshine carrot and corn muffin

One response »

Leave a Reply

