Chocolate Cake with Sour Milk

Standard

chocolate cake with sour milk

We’ve been away a lot recently and not able to use all our delivered milk – one jug is starting to go a bit whiffy.  I try not to waste food and promised hubby it would be out of the fridge by the time he gets home – he was keen to chuck it.

I know folk make great scones and soda bread etc. with sour milk but I wanted to make a chocolate cake since hubby loves chocolate cake and I thought it might make him feel a little guilty about even suggesting we jettison our sour milk.  I found this recipe from theenglishkitchen which looked good but I made the following tweaks to suit me.

  1. I used some gram flour (trying to use it up and more fibre/protein).
  2. Sunflower oil instead of butter (less saturated fat and I have no butter – going shopping later today).
  3. Extra cocoa – why not?
  4. No hot water (I felt my batter it was liquid enough).
  5. I substituted 1/2 cup of honeycomb crumbs for half of the sugar (we have a bag that hubby and the wee man bought at a traditional sweet shop) but they dissolved so I might just as well have used all sugar. Thus, here, I have kept the sugar as per the original recipe.
  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 1/2 cup gram flour (or just plain flour again)
  • 1 cup sugar (any kind)
  • 4 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 tsp baking soda (bicarbonate of soda)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup sunflower oil
  • 1 cup soured milk (milk beginning to pong a bit but not totally spoiled).
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  1. Whisk the dry ingredients together (hand whisk is fine or a fork would do).
  2. Whisk the wet ingredients together.
  3. Add the wet to the dry and mix well (wooden spoon/spatula).
  4. Pour in a tin (mine is 10″ x 8″ or 25cm x 20cm)) and bake at 180C for about 25 mins or until a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Verdict:

Wow, it rose spectacularly even with plain flour and only one egg.  The sour milk reacts with the bicarb to make air – magic.  My daughter got up late and had some for breakfast – big thumbs up – and I have just had a slice for lunch with a glass of cold (fresh and lovely) semi-skimmed milk – delicious.  Hubby will be pleased. I’ll definitely make this again – much less effort than scones and doesn’t require lashings of butter and jam on top.

As chocolate cakes go, I would say this one is relatively healthy – low in fat but a bit high in sugar – but you can’t always have your cake and eat it – unless you have a small slice after a long walk. Since I walked 24 miles in the last two days finishing my Hadrian’s Wall Hike, I deserved my big slice.

I’m sorry the photo is poor, it’s pouring rain here and I live in a dark house and my camera batteries are flat so this is an iphone snap; but, you can clearly see how well the cake rose – courtesy of the sour milk.  Now for some sour milk scotch pancakes.

4 responses »

  1. It was all gone by the end of the day – the teens asked “is there anything weird in this, like courgettes?” No, I replied (truthfully) and they gobbled it up. They were disappointed this morning to find it was all gone so I will try another variation today.

Leave a Reply

