Raspberry Chocolate Chip Muffins

Standard

bite of chocolate raspberry muffin

Well, it’s that time of year again, Scottish raspberries abound in our very own garden – about the only thing that we can successfully grow due to our cold northern climes – so very exciting.  My kids have been complaining about the rather healthy baking lately so I thought I’d treat them to some chocolate.  I couldn’t find the perfect recipe, so I tweaked quite a few others to suit my tastes/ingredients.  I used sunflower oil instead of butter and not too many chocolate chips – I wanted the raspberries to be the stars but I like a hint of gooey chocolate.

fresh raspberries home grown scottish

Also, since I only have rather patriotic Union Jack Muffin cases we can eat them to celebrate our new future King who was born yesterday.

  • 225g Self-Raising Flour
  • 125g sugar
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 egg
  • 100 ml milk
  • 90 ml sunflower oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips or a few chucks dark chocolate chopped up.
  • 1 generous cup of fresh raspberries plus 12 extra to top each muffin.
  1. Sieve first five (dry) ingredients.
  2. In a separate bowl mix next four (wet) ingredients.
  3. Gently fold wet ingredients into dry (do not over mix).
  4. Fold in berries & chocolate chips.
  5. Bake at 200C for 10 minutes then turn down to 180C for another 10 mins.
  6. Place a raspberry on top of each muffin before baking.

baked garden produce

Leave a Reply

