Kid-Made Monsters University Cup Cakes

Standard

mike cup cake

While I was out yesterday afternoon, my 14 year old daughter helped by 8 year old son to make some “Mike” from Monsters University cakes. The wee man had seen the kits in the shops and I refuse to buy such things. In order to not sound mean, I promised we would make much better ones ourselves. Daughter number 2 loves a cake challenge so I suggested they make the cakes while I was at my monthly sewing group and she was down to “little brother sit” anyway. I love it when a plan comes together.

I bought them a packet of white chocolate buttons for eyes and some chocolate chips for pupils and some regular chocolate for melting and piping details. We don’t use fondant icing or drawing icing – our family challenge is to use glacé icing, butter icing or chocolate only and “draw” with candy and melted chocolate. We make little piping bags with greaseproof paper and sticky tape.

monsters university mike and sully cup cakes

When I got home, I was amazed, how brilliant are these cakes? – and they washed up. I am particularly impressed with how they (she!) managed to use different colours of glacé icing so carefully – the purple spots on Sully and the white eye on Mike.  I also love the carefully dissected white chocolate buttons for horns.   I’m very proud of them and proud of myself for making such creative kids. I apologise for the poor quality photos, I had about 30 seconds to snap pictures on my phone in poor light before we demolished them.  Deeelicious – possibly the best cup cake I ever tasted – no really.

monsters sully cup cake

They just used our regular “fairy” cakes recipe.

  • 200g (8 oz) Self-raising flour.
  • 200g (8 oz) granulated sugar.
  • 200g(8 oz) soft butter.
  • 4 eggs lightly beaten.
  1. Cream the butter and sugar together with an electric whisk until pale, light and fluffy.
  2. Add the beaten eggs a little at a time until incorporated.
  3. Gently fold in the sifted flour.
  4. Bake around 10 minutes at 180C (fan).
Leave a Reply

