Father’s Day Oreo Tart

Standard

Image

The “Daddy” in our house is American and a big fan of Oreos (I can’t understand why myself) but the kids love ’em too.  My daughter found this recipe floating around on Tumblr a while back – No-Bake Oreo Tart – and she thought it would be nice to make for her Dad – this was after I warned the kids they had better make a special effort for Father’s Day since they all forgot his recent Birthday (despite my reminders).  We had the tarts for desert tonight as we won’t all be home of Sunday. They were really delicious; and, as I said, I don’t even like Oreos and can take or leave chocolate – they were very rich but very easy to make – A big hit with the big man!

So, this is not my recipe – I just tested it! The original recipe is here.  In our tarts, we used butterscotch chips (from the baking section in ASDA) instead of chocolate chips to give it a Scottish touch and as bit of extra colour/crunch.  I have translated the quantities into UK /metric measures for non American bakers – the method is the same as the original.

Crust:

  • 2 x 150g  packets Oreos
  • 120g butter (melted)

Ganache Filling:

  • 1 x 300ml tub double cream
  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 60g butter

Decoration:

  • 5 extra Oreos (cut up) or mini Oreos
  • A few butterscotch chips (or anything else you like).
10 responses »

    • hi, we made 6 tarts (my tart tins are 5″ (12cm) across). We did need extra oreos as there was a lot more base than making one big tart – I think we used at least an extra packet. The filling quantity was plenty though. Let me know how yours go!

      • Turned out great! I actually made 8 tarts in 4″ ramekins because I did not have tart tins on hand. The extra cookies that you suggested worked out perfectly! I am going to invest in some tart pans though… so I can serve them without the ramekins. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

