Easy Peasy No-Pastry Quiche

Standard

Image

I’ve been on a health campaign for about 3 month now (since I couldn’t fit into my home made pyjamas)!  I have lost about 10 pounds and am feeling great – my clothes fit!  I have been hiking a lot (sadly knitting and crocheting less!) and trying to eat sensibly.  This week, I was doing a little internet research and it seems that while I should be cutting down on total calories I should also be eating more protein.

So, instead of my usual porridge for breakfast I’ve been experimenting with other recipes – here’s my favourite so far – a pastry-less quiche – I can’t describe how yummy it is and so unbelievably easy to make – get the kids to make one for the family on the weekend!  Serves 4 people or 1 person for 4 days (in my case).

  • 1 small red onion (or 1/2 a big one – I used 60g)
  • 100g grated strong cheddar
  • 50g SR flour
  • 4 free range eggs
  • 300ml semi-skimmed milk
  • lots of freshly ground black pepper
  1. Mix grated cheese, flour, chopped onion and pepper in tin/dish whatever you are baking it in (my tin is approx 7×9″ 18x23cm).
  2. Whisk eggs/milk and pour over cheese etc. and give it a good stir.
  3. Bake pre-heated oven 190C for about 30 minutes or until puffed and golden.

I know cheese and eggs have fat but the benefit of the protien outweighs the fat! Obviously you can add mushrooms, bacon, sausage, potato – whatever but pre-cook them – or chuck in leftovers also sliced tomato on top perhaps.  Or bung a packet of good quality (high meat content) sausages in the oven at the same time.  It would also be great for a picnic but you would need to carry it in the tin as it’s fragile!

By my calculations, one portion (1/4) contains the following nutrition:

Calories Protien (g) Fat (g) Carbs (g) % daily 1600 calories
15g red onion 6.3 0.1 0.0 1.5
12.5g SR flour 43.3 1.3 0.2 8.9
25 g strong cheddar 103.5 6.3 8.8 0.0
1 medium egg 65.0 5.5 4.4 0.3
75ml semi-skimmed milk 36.8 2.6 1.1 3.8
One Portion 254.8 15.8 14.4 14.5 16%
Leave a Reply

