Last Day of Work – Hike up The Black Hill

Standard

snow capped Black hill Scottish Borders

Today, I handed my keys back at work – I teach for an Arts charity but funding for projects here in the Scottish Borders have run dry.  I’m not going to dwell on it just now, I had a great time, did a great job, helped some great unemployed young people to have fun and be creative and gain all kinds of valuable soft skills like confidence, sense of achievement etc.

So, when I got home today, I decided to act positive.  I took advantage of the extra hour of daylight we gained at the weekend, and the sunshine we have been deprived of for months, and hiked up my local hill.  My house looks onto the Black Hill so I see it everyday.  I love to hike up it – it’s not as bad a walk as it looks and there’s fantastic views from the top.  It’s what’s left of an extinct volcano.  I haven’t been up there for months so today was the day.  Here’s some of the photos I took, it really was a fabulous couple of hours and it didn’t hurt too much!

ploughed field en-route to black hill

eildon hills from black hill

north face of black hill

view looking west from black hill

snow on black hill

my village from black hill

resting at the top of the black hill

cheviots view south from Black Hill

One response »

Leave a Reply

