Easy Charity Crochet Beanie Hat – Free Pattern

Standard

Easy Free Child Adult Crochet Hat Pattern

In honour of the recent snowfall here in Scotland (woolly hat weather), I thought I’d share a recent crochet hat I made for charity and the basic pattern I designed.   Here’s my wee man modelling the hat but it’s actually destined for South Africa to keep an Aids orphan warm and to show him/her that the world cares (well I do anyway).  The charity I made it for, knit-a-square.com, collects knitted and crochet 8″ squares to try and make as many warm and colourful blankets as they can.  500 children are orphaned through Aids in S. Africa every day – so this is a call to the world’s knitters and crocheters to pick-up your needles.  You can make a hat or a square in one long winter’s night.   They made a special appeal this month for hats and jumpers for older children, age 3-9.  Details of the appeal for 2013 can be found here. 

STOP PRESS: I am thrilled to announce that several of these hats have already been crocheted for the appeal from this pattern, so please let me know if you make one for them too.  Here’s additional photos of second and third hats I’ve made using the pattern but with just two colours and a contrast stripe. I have floated the yarn between stripes – so fewer ends to weave in.

easy quick free DK wool yarn pattern

 

red blue crochet hat striped

My wee man is eight next month so I made this hat to fit him but, basically, older kids need adult sized hats – this hat would fit an adult too – it fits me and I have a big head – 22″ circumference.  If you use/like this pattern, please consider making an extra hat for knit-a-square or make a small monetary donation to them, thanks –

Free Crochet Beanie Hat Pattern

Important Info….

  • I used approx 35g of UK double-knit weight yarn in total although I used loads of tiny balls in different colours.  I believe this is equivalent to US “light worsted” and AUS “8-ply” yarn.  Apparently, the brighter and more colourful the better for the recipients.
  • 4.5 mm crochet hook.
  • I used UK treble crochet stitch (trc) for the whole hat except the last two rows which are UK double crochet (dc).  These stitches are called double crochet and single crochet in the US.
  • I made each round a different colour, this makes it easy to count rows and stitches and means you can have fun and use up teeny tiny balls of yarn.  Complete each round with a slip stitch (ss) in to the top of the first (chain 3) stitch of the previous round and leave a tail at least 5 inches long for weaving in later.  Start each new round in a random place around the hat by joining yarn with a ss and chaining 3 for your first stitch.  This means the joins will not be visible and will make it easier when you are weaving in ends.  I am not going to tell you to join every round with a ss and join new colour for each stripe – you can remember to do that yourselves!

Pattern

  1. chain 4, join with a slip stitch (ss)
  2. round 1: trc 12 sts into the centre of the chain 4 ring, join with a ss.
  3. round 2: join new colour, starting with a chain 3 for the first stitch, make 2 trc sts into each of the previous 12 sts (24 sts total), join with ss.
  4. round 3: make *2 trc sts in the first stitch and then 1 trc in the next st* repeat all the way round (36 sts total).
  5. round 4: make *2 trc sts in the first stitch and then 1 trc in the next 2 sts* repeat all the way round (48 sts total).
  6. round 5: make 1 trc in each of the previous 48 stitches (keeping the total 48)
  7. round 6: make *2 trc sts in the first stitch and then 1 trc in the next 3 sts* repeat all the way round (60 sts total).
  8. rounds 7- 17: make 1 trc in each of the 60 sts of the previous round.  If you want to make the hat slightly smaller, work fewer rounds here.
  9. round 18: double crochet (sc USA) in each st of the previous round.
  10. round 19: turn the work so you are working with the inside of the hat facing you and make one more round of dc in reverse as it were (this helps stop the hat curling and makes a slightly chunkier looking edge from the right side).

If you spot any mistakes in the pattern or need clarification, let me know, I made up the pattern as I went along and wrote it up afterwards so it’s not tested!

Weaving in Ends

Weaving in ends is much better than simply laying the old yarn along the work and crocheting over it – these pull out and can be seen.  Weaving in ends is a bit of a fiddle but sooo worth it.  This link explains how to do it.

11 responses »

  1. Thank you for the beanie hat pattern. I am a beginner so have found this the easiest pattern to follow and UK terminology too. Hoorah! I am making hats etc. for Samaritans Purse charity. Brenda, Surrey.

    • Thank you for this pattern. I have used it to crochet beanie hats to go in the Shoe Boxes which my local Church send to children each Christmas as part of the Samaritans Purse Charity Operation Shoe Box. It is very quick and easy to do and if you have a 50gram ball of double knitting there is just enough left over to make a pom pom for the top.

  2. Read some of your blog. So sorry you lost your mum. I lost mine just before Christmas and her knitting and crochet items inspired me to carry on her charity work. Leaves a big hole in our lives doesn’t it? 😘

  3. Great pattern!!! I’m just learning crochet and this is he first beanie pattern I could follow and that worked. Thank you 🙂

    • you can stop increasing when you get to 48 sts (step 6). Then work one sts in each stitch for subsequent rounds. Basically miss out step 7 and then work fewer rounds until the hat is your desired length. Best to try it on the head its meant for or one of similar size!

  4. This is the first year I have started crocheting for Samaritan’s Purse. Thank you for your easy to follow pattern! I’m looking forward to creating many more hats this year! ( I think I’m I up to 10 already)

Leave a Reply

