How to Make a Crochet Seaside Stripes Blanket

Standard

seaside stripes crochet 100% cotton blanket  One of my bestest pals is having a significant Birthday soon so I wanted to make her something special.  Unfortunately, she’s allergic to wool, my yarn of choice; but, when I saw some lovely teal-coloured cotton yarn in a local store I immediately thought of her – just her colour.   She loves stripes and seaside colours so I thought I’d make her a little crochet cotton blanket to keep her cozy while watching TV or reading – she feels the cold!

I selected the five colours that were most “her.” I would have liked a brown or yellow sand-coloured yarn to add a a bit of warmth to the overall scheme but they didn’t have one.  I chose to make it random stripes so that I could enjoy “choosing” which colour would look good next  – I thought I’d get bored with a pre-determined sequence.  It was fun to make,  it’s so soft, and, I know she’ll love it.

crochet beach blanket on antique teak garden bench

Here’s How I Made it….I hope this passes as a Pattern!

My finished blanket is 32 x 46 inches approx – so it could easily be a large baby blanket or a toddler-sized blanket; or used as a “throw” for the back of a sofa.

  • 4 mm crochet hook for main body and 3.5mm hook for border.
  • 10 x 50g balls of 100% cotton dk weight yarn (3 x silver, 2 x blue, 2 x teal, 1 x cream, 1 x putty, 1 x sage green).
  • Chain 120 sts to start.
  • I worked 103 random colour rows of treble crochet (UK) double crochet (USA). Leave at least 6 inches tail when you join new colours for weaving in later (I used the method advocated by blogger CraftyMinx.  It will try your patience but is sooo much better that just lying the old tail along the top of the previous row – ‘cos they pull out easily – especially with cotton ‘cos it’s so slippery)!  I mostly changed colour every row but I occasionally worked two rows in the same colour to keep things extra random.

stripey crochet picnic blanket - silver, sage, blue, taupe and teal

  • For the border – I used a 3.5mm hook and, for the first round, I worked three stitches for every two rows of (treble UK)/(double USA) crochet on the sides.  This was to tighten up the sides and help stop the sides getting stretched out in use.  I worked the stitches into the actual stitches of the treble crochets rather than the spaces – this was fiddly but much neater.  Where the sides were indented I used a treble instead of a double to even it out.  For the second round, I worked all double crochets (single USA).

Let me know how you get on with yours!

One response »

Leave a Reply

