My Craft Night Lemon Drizzle Cake

Standard

lemon drizzle cake

I made this cake for last night’s ECOZEE “Mystery” craft night – it went down very well – as you can see  – as did the mystery craft – mosaic tiling. I am so proud of my “proteges” what great works of art they produced – actually better than my sample! I promised I’d share the recipe for the cake so here goes…

It’s a Mary Berry recipe – and makes 2 half-pound loaf cakes. Mary Berry calls them “Crunchy Lemon Syrup Loaves.” I make these when called upon to donate cakes to charity coffee mornings etc and they sell well.  You could make one bigger cake but it would take longer to cook! Oh, I also won second prize in the lemon drizzle category at the village show with this cake one year – I was happy to be beaten by a legendary baker/most wonderful octogenarian – Connie.

  • 100g soft margarine (I use Stork or softened butter)
  • 175g self-raising flour
  • 175g sugar (caster or granulated)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • zest or grated rind of one lemon

Topping

  • Juice of one lemon (the one you used for the zest above)
  • 100g granulated sugar
  1. Place all the cake ingredients into a bowl and beat well for about 2 minutes (electric hand mix is a great help here).
  2. Line the tins with greaseproof paper or use paper liners.
  3. Divide mixture into two small loaf tins.
  4. Bake at 180C for about 30 minutes until a skewer inserted in the cakes comes out clean.
  5. Meanwhile make the topping… mix lemon juice and sugar and stir well.
  6. When the cakes are still hot, skewer all over and drizzle lemon/sugar topping over the cakes.
  7. Leave to cool in the tin – don’t remove the paper until the cakes are cold.

ENJOY…If you make this cake…I’d love a comment.

Leave a Reply

