Sybil’s Carrot Cake

Standard

slice of the best moist carrot cakeI made our family’s carrot cake for my second Cake and Make session. My Mum was given this recipe on a scrap of paper a long time ago, I’m not sure who gave it to her. We reckon it’s the best carrot cake out there and we’ve always been happy to share the recipe. In fact, it’s lucky she shared it with me because she lost her original scrap of paper and had to “borrow” her recipe back again. It was always just called carrot cake but I’m naming it now in honour of my mum – Sybil – who passed away in January. She made it for many a family celebration and many other occasions in between. It’s my son’s favourite cake and I make it for his Birthdays.

The reason it is so good is because it’s chock full of carrots which makes it very moist. There are more carrots than flour by weight. It’s written in old money, so I had the added joy of getting out my ancient scales and weights. The cake keeps well and improves with age – it makes a great cake for packed lunches. I usually make one before we go to Aviemore each February and eat it for lunch on the slopes.

  • 3 large eggs.
  • 3 fluid oz sunflower oil.
  • 2 fluid oz milk/yoghurt.
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract.
  • 6 oz demerara/raw cane sugar.
  • 6 oz dark or soft brown sugar.
  • 1 tsp cinnamon.
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda.
  • 1/2 tsp salt.
  • 9 oz SR wholemeal flour or regular SR flour or a mix.
  • 11 oz grated carrot.
  • 3 oz dessicated coconut or any chopped nuts.

1. Mix eggs, oil, vanilla & milk/yog.
2. Add sugars and beat well.
3. Fold in flour, cinnamon, bicarb, salt.
4. Fold in carrot and coconut/nuts.
5. Bake in large tin (mine is 7″ square by 3″ deep) at 160C for approx 1 hour 15 mins.

I use yoghurt rather than milk in mine and coconut rather than nuts as my kids don’t like nuts in their cakes. I use dark brown sugar as it’s hubby’s favourite. I don’t usually ice it as I’m not a fan of icing but you could of course.

One response »

Leave a Reply

