Reggae Reggae Cake & Make

Standard

caribbean coconut lime cake levi roots reggae reggae cookbook

Last night was my first Cake and Make Evening – three lovely friends turned up to support me – thanks you guys.  I showed off my quilt, there was some knitting and cross stitch action, and a whole lot of yacking.   I enjoyed myself and hopefully I can encourage a few more folks to drop by in the following weeks.  I thought I’d share the recipe for the coconut cake I served  – it’s from Levi Roots’ Caribbean Cookbook.  It was super easy to make and  I thought it tasted lovely, it was moist and zingy but a wee but crumbly – I’ll give it 4/5.  The recipe is as follows:

  • 175g (6oz) SR flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 175g butter/marge
  • 175g golden caster sugar
  • 3 eggs lightly beaten
  • 50g (2oz) desiccated coconut
  • Zest & juice of 2 limes
  • Beat everything together until light and fluffy with an electric whisk/mixer
  • Pour into a 2lb/900g loaf tin
  • Bake at 180C for 45-55 minutes
3 responses »

  1. Glad you got off to a good start – it’s just a bit too far for me to come. However we were in Crafters this morning and admired all your lovely stuff!!

Leave a Reply

