Penny Rug Cushion

Standard

I made this cushion for myself using of my own favourite cardigan which, sadly, developed a rather large hole.  So, after many years of faithful service (at least 10 I reckon), it was time for it to be lovingly upcycled.  I was inspired by the American folk tradition of penny rugs – but wanted to use hearts instead of circles .  This cushion uses “scraps” of felt from approximately 20 different Scottish lambswool sweaters I have worked with over the past couple of years.  For me, it is a beautiful reminder of the fun I have had with each sweater and of all the lovely things I have made from them.  It is hand sewn with my trademark blanket stitch.

Leave a Reply

